Data Cart

Your data extract

0 variables
0 samples
View Cart
Philippines, Province 1990 - 2010 [Level 1; consistent boundaries, GIS]

Codes and Frequencies

Can't find the category you are looking for? Try the Detailed codes

Explore how IPUMS created this variable


GEO1_PH identifies the household's provinces within the Philippines in all sample years where available. Provinces are the first level administrative units of the country. GEO1_PH is spatially harmonized to account for political boundary changes across census and survey years. Some detail is lost in harmonization; see the comparability discussion. A GIS map (in shapefile format), corresponding to GEO1_PH can be downloaded from the GIS Boundary files page in the IPUMS International web site.

The full set of geography variables for the Philippines can be found in the IPUMS International Geography variables list. For cross-national geographic analysis on the first and second major administrative level refer to GEOLEV1, and GEOLEV2. More information on IPUMS-International geography can be found here.

Comparability — General

Where boundaries changed over time, units were harmonized to create units with boundaries that remain stable over time. Where officially-defined provinces have populations under 20,000, they have been regionalized (combined) with neighboring provinces.

  • Batanes is combined with Cagayan for confidentiality reasons.
  • The province of Compostela Valley split from Davao (Davao Del Norte) in 1998.
  • The province of Guimaras split from Iloilo in 1992.
  • The province of Biliran split from Leyte in 1992
  • The province of Sarangani split from South Cotabato in 1992.
  • The province of Kalinga-Apayao split into separate Kalinga and Apayao provinces in 1995.
  • Isabela city was created from the province of Basilan in 2001.
  • Zamboanga-Sibugay province split from Zamboanga del Sur in 2001.
  • Surigao del Norte split to form the Dinagat Islands in 2006.
  • The chartered cities of Cotabato and Marawi physically lie within the Autonomous Region of Muslim Mindanao, but are considered a part of the Central Mindanao province for administrative purposes. As a result, Catabato and Marawi are combined with the Lanao Del Sur and Maguindanao provinces.
  • Davao Occidental split from Davao del Sur in 2013

Spratly Islands are a group of disputed islands claimed by Malaysia, Taiwan, China, Philippines, Vietnam, and Brunei. The 1995 to 2010 Philippines census samples include data on Spratly Islands (locally known as "Kalayaan Group of Islands") as part of the Palawan province. The islands are regionalized with other municipalities due to confidentiality reasons.


  • All households


  • Philippines: 1990, 1995, 2000, 2010