Data Cart

Your data extract

0 variables
0 samples
View Cart
Uganda, District 1991 - 2014 [Level 1; consistent boundaries, GIS]

Codes and Frequencies

Can't find the category you are looking for? Try the Detailed codes

Explore how IPUMS created this variable


GEO1_UG identifies the household's district within Uganda in all sample years. Districts are the first level administrative units of the country. GEO1_UG is spatially harmonized to account for political boundary changes across census years. Some detail is lost in harmonization; see the comparability discussion. A GIS map (in shapefile format), corresponding to GEO1_UG can be downloaded from the GIS Boundary files page in the IPUMS International web site.

The full set of geography variables for Uganda can be found in the IPUMS International Geography variables list. For cross-national geographic analysis on the first and second major administrative level refer to GEOLEV1, and GEOLEV2. More information on IPUMS-International geography can be found here.

Comparability — General

Where boundaries changed over time, units were harmonized to create units with boundaries that remain stable over time.

Several new districts were created in Uganda between the censuses. We list them chronologically.

Changes in the 1990's

  • There was transfer in territory from Hoima to Masindi in the early 1990's
  • Ntungamo was formed from parts of Bushenyi and Mbara in 1994
  • Nakasongola was formed from part of Luwero in 1997
  • Sembabule was formed from part of Masaka in 1997
  • Katakwi was formed from part of Soroti in 1997
  • Bugiri was formed form part of Iganga in 1997
  • Busia was formed from part of Tororo in 1997
  • Adjumani was formed from Moyo in 1997
Changes in 2000-2001
  • Yumbe was formed from part of Arua in 2000
  • Kayunga was formed from part of Mukono in 2000
  • Wakiso was formed from part of Mpigi in 2000
  • Mayuge was created from Iganga in 2000
  • Sironko was formed from part of Mbale in 2000
  • Pader was formed from part of Kitgum
  • Kamwenge and Kyenjojo were formed from parts of Kabarole in 2000
  • Kaberamaido was formed from part of Soroti in 2001
  • Nakapiripirit was formed from part of Moroto in 2001
  • Kanungu was formed from part of Rukungiri in 2001
Changes in 2005
  • Amolatar district was created from Lira
  • Amuria district created from Katakwi
  • Budaka district created from Pallisa
  • Bukwo district created from Kapchorwa
  • Butaleja district created from Tororo
  • Ibanda district created from Mbarara
  • Kaabong district created from Kotido
  • Isingiro district created from Mbarara
  • Kaliro district created from Kamuli
  • Kiruhuura district created from Mbarara
  • Koboko district created from Arua
  • Manafwa district created from Mbale
  • Mityana district created from Mubende
  • Nakaseke district created from Luwero
Changes in 2006-2007
  • Abim district was created from Kotido in 2006
  • Buliisa district created from Masindi in 2006
  • Namutumba district created from Iganga in 2006
  • Dokolo district created from Lira in 2006
  • Amuru district created from Gulu in 2006
  • Nyadri district created from Arua in 2006
  • Oyam district created from Apac in 2006
  • Bukedea district created Kumi in 2007
  • Bududa district created from Manafwa in 2007
  • Lyantonde district created from Rakai in 2007

At this point there were 79 districts plus Kampala.

Changes in 2009:

  • Amudat district formed from Nakapiripirit district
  • Buikwe district formed from Mukono district
  • Buyende district formed from Kamuli district
  • Kyegegwa district formed from Kyenjojo district
  • Lamwo district formed from Kitgum district
  • Otuke district formed from Lira district
  • Zombo district formed from Nebbi district
Changes in 2010:
  • Agago district split from Pader district
  • Alebtong district formed from Lira district
  • Buhweju district formed from Bushenyi district
  • Bukomansimbi district formed from Masaka district
  • Bulambuli district formed from Sironko district
  • Butambala district formed from Mpigi district
  • Buvuma district formed from Mukono district
  • Gomba district formed from Mpigi district
  • Kalungu district formed from Masaka district
  • Kibuku district formed from Pallisa district
  • Kiryandongo district formed from Masindi district
  • Kole district formed from Apac district
  • Kween district formed from Kapchorwa district
  • Kyankwanzi district from Kiboga district
  • Luuka district formed from Iganga district
  • Lwengo district split from Masaka district
  • Mitoma district formed from Bushenyi district
  • Namayingo district formed from Bugiri district
  • Napak district split from Moroto district
  • Ngora district formed from Kumi district
  • Ntoroko district formed from Bundibugyo district
  • Nwoya district split from Amuru district
  • Rubirizi district split from Bushenyi district
  • Serere district formed from Soroti district
  • Sheema district formed from Bushenyi district


  • All households


  • Uganda: 1991, 2002, 2014