Data Cart

Your data extract

0 variables
0 samples
View Cart
Trinidad and Tobago, Region 1970 - 2011 [Level 1; consistent boundaries, GIS]

Codes and Frequencies

Can't find the category you are looking for? Try the Detailed codes

Explore how IPUMS created this variable


GEO1_TT identifies the household's regions (that includes boroughs, parish and cities), within Trinidad and Tobago in all sample years. Regions are the first level administrative units of the country. GEO1_TT is spatially harmonized to account for political boundary changes across census years. Some detail is lost in harmonization; see the comparability discussion. A GIS map (in shapefile format), corresponding to GEO1_TT can be downloaded from the GIS Boundary files page in the IPUMS International web site.

The full set of geography variables for Trinidad and Tobago can be found in the IPUMS International Geography variables list. For cross-national geographic analysis on the first and second major administrative level refer to GEOLEV1, and GEOLEV2. More information on IPUMS-International geography can be found here.

Comparability — General

Where boundaries changed over time, units were harmonized to create units with boundaries that remain stable over time.

Boundary changes:

  • 1980: Point Fortin region split from Saint Patrick county.
  • Between 1990 and 2000:
  • St. Patrick became Siparia.
  • St. Andrew/St. David and a small part of county of Nariva/Mayaro became Sangre Grande.
  • Victoria became Princess Town.
  • Penal/Debe was formed from parts of Victoria and St. Patrick (Siparia) and Point Fortin.
  • Chaguanas formed from Caroni.
  • Diego Martin formed from the old St. George.
  • San Juan/ Laventille formed from St. George and Caroni.
  • Tunapuna formed from St. George and Caroni.
  • Couva formed from County of Nariva/Mayaro, Victoria, St. George and Caroni.
  • St. John, St. Mary, St. Paul, St. George, St. David, St. Andrew and St. Patrick parishes were formed from Tobago Island.
  • Between 200 and 2011:
  • Tabaquite and Talparo formed from Couva
  • Piarco formed from Tunapuna


  • All households


  • Trinidad and Tobago: 1970, 1980, 1990, 2000, 2011