Data Cart

Your data extract

0 variables
0 samples
View Cart
Dominican Republic, Province 1960 - 2010 [Level 1; consistent boundaries, GIS]

Codes and Frequencies

Can't find the category you are looking for? Try the Detailed codes

Explore how IPUMS created this variable


GEO1_DO identifies the household's province within the Dominican Republic in all sample years, except 2002. Provinces are the first level administrative units of the country. GEO1_DO is spatially harmonized to account for political boundary changes across census years. Some detail is lost in harmonization; see the comparability discussion. A GIS map (in shapefile format), corresponding to GEO1_DO can be downloaded from the GIS Boundary files page in the IPUMS International web site.

The full set of geography variables for the Dominican Republic can be found in the IPUMS International Geography variables list. For cross-national geographic analysis on the first and second major administrative level refer to GEOLEV1, and GEOLEV2. More information on IPUMS-International geography can be found here.

Comparability — General

Where boundaries changed over time, units were harmonized to create units with boundaries that remain stable over time.

Boundary changes:

  • Around 1960, Julia Molina changed its name to María Trinidad Sánchez province
  • In 1961 José Trujillo Valdez became Peravia; Libertador became Dajabón; Benefactor became San Juan; and Trujillo became San Cristóbal.
  • In 1965 San Rafael became La Estrelleta, but in 1972, La Estrelleta province became Elías Piña
  • In 1968, La Romana province formed from La Altagracia
  • Between 1960 and 1970, there were changes in boundaries between the provinces of Puerto Plata and Santiago
  • In 1972, Name of La Estrelleta province changed to Elías Piña
  • In 1982, Monseñor Nouel province formed from La Vega
  • In 1982, Monte Plata province formed from San Cristóbal
  • Around 1984, Hato Mayor province formed from El Seibo
  • In 2000 San José de Ocoa province formed from Peravia
  • In 2001 Santo Domingo province formed from Distrito Nacional
  • In 2007 Salcedo became Hermanas Mirabal
  • After 1980, there were changes in boundary between Baoruco, Barahona.

The 2002 sample of Dominican Republic is not included in GEO1_DO, it is only available as a year specific variable GEO1_DO2002. The 2002 microdata sample identifies municipalities and municipal districts, whereas all the other census years (2010, 1981, 1970, and 1960) identify municipalities. The boundaries of some municipalities are different from the other census years.


  • All households


  • Dominican Republic: 1960, 1970, 1981, 2010