Data Cart

Your data extract

0 variables
0 samples
View Cart
Province of residence 5 years ago, Vietnam; consistent boundaries, GIS

Codes and Frequencies

Can't find the category you are looking for? Try the Detailed codes

Explore how IPUMS created this variable


      class Mig1_5_vn : public Editor {

  Mig1_5_vn(VarPointer varInfo) : Editor(varInfo) {}
  void edit() {

    long a = getRecoded();
    if (dataSet == dataset_id::vn1989a) {
      if (VN1989A_0431() >= 5 && VN1989A_0408() == 99)
        a = GEO1_VN(0);
      if (VN1989A_0407() == 4 && VN1989A_0408() == 99)
        a = 704097;
    if (dataSet == dataset_id::vn1999a) {
      if (VN1999A_0406() >= 5 && VN1999A_0416() == 999)
        a = GEO1_VN(0);
      if (VN1999A_0414() == 5 && VN1999A_0416() == 999)
        a = 704097;
    if (dataSet == dataset_id::vn2009a) {
      if (VN2009A_0440() == 99 && VN2009A_0403() >= 5)
        a = GEO1_VN(0);
      if (VN2009A_0440() == 99 && VN2009A_0404() == 5)
        a = 704097;




MIG1_5_VN indicates the person's province and region of residence within Vietnam five years prior to the census. Migration province codes from MIG1_5_VN are compatible with codes from GEO1_VN.

Click on the Source Variables tab for information on place of residence for each sample year. Source variables may contain more geographic unit detail but are not suitable for cross-temporal comparison.

Comparability — General

Where boundaries changed over time, units were harmonized to create units with boundaries that remain stable over time. There were several boundary changes in Vietnam; we list boundary changes through time that are reflected in the IPUMS samples.

  • 1992:
  • Ha Tuyen province split into Ha Giang and Tuyen Quang.
  • Hoang Lien Son province split into Lao Cai and Yen Bai.
  • Nghe Tinh province split into Ha Tinh and Nghe An.
  • Gia Lai-Kon Tum province split into Gia Lai and Kon Tum.
  • Part of Dong Nai province annexed to Vung Tau-Con Dao special zone to form Ba Ria-Vung Tau province.
  • Thuan Hai province split into Binh Thuan and Ninh Thuan.
  • Hau Giang province split into Can Tho and Soc Trang.
  • Cuu Long province split into Tra Vinh and Vinh Long.
  • 1996:
  • Bac Thai province split into Bac Kan and Thai Nguyen
  • Ha Bac province split into Bac Giang and Bac Ninh
  • Hai Hung province split into Hai Duong and Hung Yen
  • Minh Hai province split into Bac Lieu and Ca Mau
  • Nam Ha (Ha Nam Ninh) province split into Ha Nam and Nam Dinh
  • Quang Nam-Da Nang province split into Quang Nam province and Da Nang municipality
  • Song Be province split into Binh Duong and Binh Phuoc
  • Vinh Phu province split into Phu Tho and Vinh Phuc.
  • 2003:
  • Can Tho province split into Can Tho municipality and Hau Giang province.
  • Dac Nong province split from Dac Lak
  • Dien Bien province split from Lai Chau
  • 2008:
  • Ha Tay province and parts of Hoa Binh and Vinh Phuc provinces merged with Hanoi municipality.

For the country of residence of international migrants, see MIGCTRY5 (Country of residence 5 years ago).


  • Vietnam 1989: Persons age 5+
  • Vietnam 1999: Persons age 5+
  • Vietnam 2009: Persons age 5+
  • Vietnam 2019: Persons age 5+


  • Vietnam: 1989, 1999, 2009, 2019