Data Cart

Your data extract

0 variables
0 samples
View Cart
Province of residence 5 years ago, Dominican Republic; consistent boundaries, GIS

Codes and Frequencies

Can't find the category you are looking for? Try the Detailed codes

Explore how IPUMS created this variable


MIG1_5_DO indicates the province in Dominican Republic where the person lived 5 years ago.

Click on the Source Variables tab for information on place of residence for each sample year. Source variables may contain more geographic unit detail but are not suitable for cross-temporal comparison.

Comparability — General

Where boundaries changed over time, units were harmonized to create units with boundaries that remain stable over time.

Boundary changes:

  • Around 1960, Julia Molina changed its name to María Trinidad Sánchez province
  • In 1961 José Trujillo Valdez became Peravia; Libertador became Dajabón; Benefactor became San Juan; and Trujillo became San Cristóbal.
  • In 1965 San Rafael became La Estrelleta, but in 1972, La Estrelleta province became Elías Piña
  • In 1968, La Romana province formed from La Altagracia
  • Between 1960 and 1970, there were changes in boundaries between the provinces of Puerto Plata and Santiago
  • In 1972, Name of La Estrelleta province changed to Elías Piña
  • In 1982, Monseñor Nouel province formed from La Vega
  • In 1982, Monte Plata province formed from San Cristóbal
  • Around 1984, Hato Mayor province formed from El Seibo
  • In 2000 San José de Ocoa province formed from Peravia
  • In 2001 Santo Domingo province formed from Distrito Nacional
  • In 2007 Salcedo became Hermanas Mirabal
  • After 1980, there were changes in boundary between Baoruco, Barahona.

The migration variable is available for 1981, 2002, and 2010 samples only.


  • Dominican Republic 1981: Persons age 5+
  • Dominican Republic 2002: Persons age 5+
  • Dominican Republic 2010: Persons age 5+


  • Dominican Republic: 1981, 2002, 2010