Questionnaire Text

Questionnaire form view entire document:  text  image
County or county borough___
D.E.D. or ward___
Enumeration area no. ___
Townland ___
Street, etc.; no. / name of house ___
Questionnaire instructions view entire document:  text  image
7. Treatment of towns
7.1 Municipal and non-municipal towns
Municipal towns have legally defined boundaries for purposes of Local Government. They

1. five county boroughs (Dublin, Cork, Limerick, Waterford, and Galway) and the borough of Dun Laoghaire
2. five municipal boroughs
3. forty nine urban districts
4. thirty two towns under the towns improvement (Ireland) Act, 1854 (i.e., towns with town Commissioners)

In all these cases, population figures must always be compiled for the area within the legally defined boundary even though this may not coincide with the present built-up area which has often spread beyond that boundary. Non-municipal towns do not have legally defined boundaries.

7.2 Suburbs and environs of towns and town boundaries
The built-up areas which lie just outside the legal boundary of a municipal town are termed
"Suburbs" in the case of a county borough or the borough of Dun Laoghaire and "Environs" in the case of the other municipal towns. For the purpose of the 1991 Census, the Central Statistics Office has assigned boundaries to the non-municipal towns and to the suburbs or environs of municipal towns and these boundaries must be meticulously observed in carrying out the enumeration.

9. Different types of Enumeration Areas
9.1 Urban EA and rural EA
EA are divided into two groups: urban EA and rural EA. A rural EA may include all or part of a non-municipal town or of the environs of a municipal town as well as territory which is wholly rural in character.